My Family Rants

Kids Sleep Habits

Posted on: November 29, 2008

WHAT THE HELL IS WITH KIDS AND SLEEP??

Okay probably this is a RANT…………….because I get very little sleep most nights.

Then last night I feed my baby (she is almost 6 months old) at 10pm, she goes right back to sleep, and doesn’t she sleep for 7 hours……………

IN A ROW!!!!!

4:50am

When I heard her stir at 5am I assumed it was maybe 1am, when I saw the clock I sat straight up in bed FREAKING OUT………”is she okay?, why did she sleep so long?”……….but of course, she’s fine…..just wanted to be fed a little (well alot at that point cause my boobs were FULL)………..and then the little angel goes right BACK TO SLEEP!!!

This baby (my 3rd) is an angel, a doll, a smiley happy beautiful baby girl.  But she has never slept well or long……………7 hours in a row………….unbelievable……….and of course I know it won’t last, I’m sure tonight she’ll be back in her routine of every 3 to 4 hours……….but that’s okay I love her and I know not to expect 12 hours a night……….YET

THEN comes the best part of the story………….

5:20am

I’m just getting comfy back in bed at 5:20am, baby sound asleep, and what do I hear from my toddler’s room…..”mummy????”………I put the pillow over my head hoping I am just dreaming……….no….no….no…please God just a bit more sleep!

it gets louder, and more insistant……..”mummy????”, “muuummmmy??”  includes tears this time………

CRAP!

I rush to get up and save this situation before she wakes the baby back up or worse yet my 6 year old son, hoping desparately to get my toddler BACK to Sleep….

I try rocking her

I try rubbing her back

I try

EVERYTHING

5:45 am

I stumble with my darling (!!!!!!) toddler downstairs, tv on, she is WIDE awake, and I’m brewing some much needed coffee.

WHAT THE HELL IS WITH KIDS AND SLEEP???

Leave a Reply

