My Family Rants

Toddler Eating Habits

Posted on: December 2, 2008

I’m still stuck on this topic because it is pretty front and foremost in my everyday life, and a source of great worry and frustration.

Is she getting enough?  Is she getting what she needs?

My toddler refuses to sit down and eat an actual meal.  So we are instead letting her snack at will all day, trying to stay to healthy choices.  I have actually stopped buying cookies, because given the choice she would try and survive on chocolate chip cookies alone.

Instead I keep handy:

raisins, grapes, bananas, apples, clemintines

whole wheat pretzels (she will NOT eat bread so I’ve been struggling with how to get some whole grains into her each day)

MEAT: another item of food she would easily eat all day, unfortunately she prefers BOLOGNA; obviously not the most nutricious choice full of gross stuff and nitrates etc.  I’m still looking for good alternatives for her, i.e. turkey, ham etc…..so I’ve stopped buying bologna for now…….

Yogurt, cheese strings, chocolate milk, apple juice etc

I came across this wonderful resource:

http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/food-guide-aliment/track-suivi/table_g-b_f-g_age2-3-eng.php

It is a food guide designed just for toddlers.  This is going on my fridge!!!

Leave a Reply

