My Family Rants

Right Brained, or Left Brained?

Posted on: December 28, 2008

What the hell am I talking about right?

This is one of the tools that my family counselor has taught me to use when dealing with people; my husband, my employees, even my kids….and actually even myself.

Each and every person is EITHER Right Brained, or Left Brained.  I for SURE am left brained, and my husband for SURE is Right brained.  I am very logical, organized, everything in my life revolves around facts & numbers.  My husband is a dreamer, he is always coming up with fabulous ideas, he is a risk taker, an adventurer.

LEFT BRAIN FUNCTIONS
uses logic
detail oriented
facts rule
words and language
present and past
math and science
can comprehend
knowing
acknowledges
order/pattern perception
knows object name
reality based
forms strategies
practical
safe

RIGHT BRAIN FUNCTIONS
uses feeling
“big picture” oriented
imagination rules
symbols and images
present and future
philosophy & religion
can “get it” (i.e. meaning)
believes
appreciates
spatial perception
knows object function
fantasy based
presents possibilities
impetuous
risk taking

So I apply this theory to my children, are they right brained or left brained?  My son for sure is left brained; he excels in math, reading, he is very academic, very detailed, very logical.  My daughter for sure (even at age 2 I can tell) is right brained; she loves to colour & draw, but doesn’t not for very long, she always has many things on the go.  She is very musical, definately a risk taker, loves pretending.

Identifying a person as left brained vs right brained helps me to understand how they look at things, and helps me deal better with that person.  Instead of getting frustrated with my husbands constant “hey I’ve got a great idea” (at least 10 times a day), I center him, write down the ideas, help to be the one to get the details organized so that idea might actually take shape into a viable business idea.

I use this in business when dealing with employees.  If an employee is left brained, they are probably not a good fit for a graphic designs type job.  But they would be excellent in accounting!

More information from Wikipedia:

Left hemisphere functions Right hemisphere functions
analytical holistic
verbal prosodic
logical intuitive
numerical computation (exact calculation, numerical comparison, estimation)
left hemisphere only: direct fact retrieval[5][6]
numerical computation (approximate calculation, numerical comparison, estimation)[5][6]
language: grammar/vocabulary, literal[7] language: intonation/accentuation, prosody, pragmatic, contextual[7]
2 Responses to "Right Brained, or Left Brained?"

I had to laugh when I read your title on the TAG SURF list of posts I was looking over today! So read your post with diligence to see why you were adamaent that EVERYONE must be either or (right or left brained). While you have good information and resource material — I must beg to differ! You see — I am one of the small percentage of people who actually use BOTH sides of my brain at the same time. I am ambidextrious (sp? sorry) which means that i use both hands most of the time with equal ability for most tasks. I happen to think rather un conventionally, too. I happen to think globally first; then follow to the details of a particular problem. Hope this doesn’t foul up your plan for relating to others — just be prepared for the odd man out occasionally! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

