My Family Rants

Happy Children: “We Hypnotize our children everyday”

Posted on: January 5, 2009

I’m reading this book: “The Secret of Happy Children” by Steve Biddulph

Not far into it yet, but it already has hooked me.  The first part of the book talks about how the things that we, as parents, say everyday to our kids are programming them consiously and sub-consiously, i.e. hypnotizing.

I am obviously doing absolutely everything wrong, and am probably on the road to putting my children in therapy for the rest of their lives (according to the book anyways)

For example, if you tell your child on a regular basis “you are such an idiot”, that gets planted into their minds and will affect their self esteem for the rest of their lives.  Even if you are saying it just in a “kidding” sort of way.

Here are some of the things you should NOT say to your child:

“Hey, elephant ears!  Dinner’s ready”

“You’re as bad as your father!”

“Why can’t you be sweet and good like your baby brother?”

“You hit him again and I’ll KILL you!!”

“She’s very shy I don’t know what’ll become of her”   (telling other people when child is in ear shot)

“He sure BELTED her, He’s a real little tiger”

and my personal favorite:

“GOD, you exhaust me!  I’m so sick I could just lie down and die”

Leave a Reply

